Call me Solitaire….

Call me Solitaire....

Again, not really much more to say about this one. One of my classes is over today, so I should be able to make some slightly better contributions soon, but for now we have a sad dodo-type bird inspired by a Deep Purple song.

Yes, you read that right (unless of course you read it wrong; I’m in no position to judge these things, I suppose.) The first song that starts up when I have my media list sorted a certain way is “Solitaire” (which you may well have never heard of, since I’d wager 1993 isn’t typically the decade that comes to mind when one thinks of Deep Purple), and I almost always have music playing when I draw. I started drawing birds and eventually wound up with a dodo, which naturally (if you’re me) led me to think about the Rodrigues Solitaire, a similarly extinct and flightless fellow. I also have an unfortunate tendency to *associate* music with what I’m drawing, so the wailing and whimpering lyrics (“A heart without an echo/A man without a child/Alone with all my sorrow”) inevitably led to the imagined plight of the sad sole surviving Solitaire.

Incidentally, and speaking of sound-alikes: There’s a repeated line, “Empty hearts and icy stares/Oh, call me Solitaire” — and despite always having *known* from context what the correct lyrics are, I cannot help *hearing* the line as “icy stairs.” Because let’s face it, here in the Midwest you are far more likely to encounter icy stairs on an average October-through-April day. It would be entirely plausible to include them in a mournful ballad.

DISCLAIMER: I don’t know exactly what a Rodrigues Solitaire looks (looked?) like. But it’s okay, because nobody else does either.

Talk to Me

