Is that a slug…?

The sharp-eyed reader will note that there was already a Bubba; from the I Went Swimming in the Caribbean post on the 18th. The sharp-eyed reader will also notice that the former Bubba’s name is now Doug. This is not a last-minute change, much as it may seem from the name choice. I label things poorly as a rule, and this project is no exception. I was relying on a combination of memory, process of elimination, and vague intuition to work out which name on my list belonged to which drawing. While fixing this terrible system a few days ago, I discovered that Bubba’s name had been mis-assigned. The fish was actually supposed to be named “Doug,” and Bubba was the slug’s name.

If I had thrown my hands in the air and said, “Well, it really doesn’t matter whether a fish is called Bubba or Doug,” all might have been sorted out right there. However, I instead threw my hands in the air and said, “Well, it really doesn’t matter whether a slug is called Bubba or Doug.” And you can’t say that aloud, or even in your head, without instantly hearing that “slug” and “Doug” rhyme. I just couldn’t bear to have it look like I picked the name Doug to rhyme with “slug.” As I said, even I have my standards, strangely arbitrary though they certainly are. And so, here we have Bubba the banana slug. I suppose the partial alliteration is just something I’ll have to live with….

Is that a slug...?

Name: Bubba
Habitat: Leaf litter
Likes: Damp leaves, damp bark, damp soil
Dislikes: Pavement, sunlight, salt
Personal Quote: “Shells are so overrated.”

Talk to Me

