Hi, Dakota….

Moluccandraco2

Well, it looks like we’re back to posting pictures that aren’t actually traditional-media artwork … but frankly I’m still reeling from having to look at those 50 pencil sketches every day for two months. I needed something in color.

Yes, there are colorful things to draw with in real life, and I did actually draw something in colored pencil the other day — a cute (if I may say so myself) little monster inspired by our local city bus. But that was a gift, long since given away and never photographed. Oops.

Instead, I present to you a somewhat elegant, very pink fellow of dragony type. Yes, he is a “he” — my muse in this case being Dakota, a very pretty boy who resides in a much less pretty pet shop in town. He is a Moluccan cockatoo, and when not wolf-whistling, quacking, giggling or screaming he prefers to greet his adoring public with, “Hi, Dakota!” Okay, perhaps he hasn’t quite grasped the nuances of human naming conventions yet, but we still love him.

His endless entertainment value is marred only by the wretchedness of his calls when everyone leaves him at last, drifting on to go find what they came there for, and he is left alone in his cage with no flock to “talk” to. I think he has a friend of sorts now, another Moluccan next door, but they hardly seem friendly; the younger one raises its crest and lunges when passersby get too near, while Dakota keeps his distance from it and solicits head-scratches and arm-perches from the human visitors.

Alas, I suppose few if any pet-store creatures truly live well; it’s a holding area, nothing more. Hopefully, those that do go on to life beyond bars have a much more pleasant existence than they’d formerly experienced. I know, from seeing the original homes of my own pets, that this is not always the case … but even then, there’s hope. My own gecko, I like to think, is living out a much happier ending after gamely enduring the “care” of easily-distracted young boys for many years. He has a dark warm place to sleep, lots of things to climb on and under, fresh water, and tasty food that doesn’t bite back. Hopefully that pretty much crosses off everything on a gecko’s wish list … he’s certainly earned that much.

2 thoughts on “Hi, Dakota….

  1. Lovely work! My heart breaks for the cockatoo in the pet shop. They are the most emotional of parrots, extremely loud and needy, and can be very dangerous as they grow older. I hope he finds a good home! I worry about animals in any kind of situation like that, silly as it is on my own behalf.

  2. Pingback: To stay alive until the light has faded… | Drawn @ Random

Talk to Me

