A couple of what, I don’t know….

A couple of what, I don't know....

Well, I guess this is it for this picture? If I go any further, there’s an increasingly good chance I’ll slip up on something major and botch it up for good. Presenting, for the first time all in one photo, Mr. and Mrs. Beastie and some plant life.

Of course, I don’t actually know what I’ll *do* with this now it’s done. It’s just going to exist, I suppose, like the pages before it on this sketch pad. At least it doesn’t take up any more space than the empty paper itself, which is a plus. Then again, the empty paper takes up a lot more physical space than a file on my computer would, which is why I’ve gone mostly to digital art for bigger projects.

One way or another, though, it’s done, and that’s pretty cool. That’s really the only goal I had for these guys in the first place, so it’s no surprise that it’s the extent of their usefulness. Drawing them in detail also gave me a good idea of how they “really” look, which will make quick character sketches a lot easier later if I feel the need. My local co-op displays work from local artists, and I really wish I had a body of work I could submit for that, but honestly I just don’t “do” pictures like that. I make little scribbly folks floating around in a white void and standing just shy of on-the-level.

Maybe some day I’ll get better at this “real art” thing. Maybe I’ll just stick to what I know. But I’ll have to keep in practice either way, and that’s one thing this blog encourages me to do. It’s not fool-proof, as there are still some abandoned projects in its past, but it’s a start. Maybe next week I’ll use it to get me started on Madame Moth — I’ve been putting her off for years, and I’d really like to see how she looks….

One thought on “A couple of what, I don’t know….

  1. Pingback: The wonderful thing about Tiggers… | Drawn @ Random

Talk to Me

