Like a moth….

Like a moth....

I’ve never actually seen a moth around a flame, probably because I don’t use candles and because big smoky campfires tend to have something of the opposite effect on insects.

Anyhow, this is one of those infamous ideas-that-never-become-more-than-that. I’ve started it a few times as a proper drawing, but I always get frustrated trying to work out the angles and proportions, and wind up scrapping the whole thing. What I need to do is go back and do some proper moth/butterfly studies, to get the groundwork down before I try modifications. It’s what I do with the dragons, the griffins, and so on. It’s these humanoid figures that throw me. And clothes. And anything tied to the human world, really. I don’t even know what an umbrella looks like, for crying out loud. I don’t live in a box, I swear, and it’s not even that I don’t pay attention. I can easily tell, say, a Mustang from a Firebird — but ask me to draw *any* car and you’ll get something that looks like it was made from a Velveeta box.

Anyhow, one of many practice pages I’ll be drawing before this lady comes to life. Maybe between this blog and my new-found free time (I’m only working 20 hours a week now, on account of now being in a 20-hour-a-week position) I’ll finally finish Ms. Moth this year. Ideally she’ll be in full color and fairly good-sized, but we’ll see how that works out. Here’s hoping!

Talk to Me

