Do not go gentle…

NightfuryNight Fury, anyone?

Okay, actually you can’t have it. It’s going on a friend’s wall or mine, depending on whose decor it suits better. I definitely have a bit of a problem when it comes to making these little cutout dudes; I was all set to make a prototype Toothless out of scrap paper but wound up with Toothless, a random wyvern, and two rather large wolves. I just can’t leave a piece of paper that has more animals left in it, apparently. I don’t even need more for my wall, it has three families of mythical beasts as it is.

It’s just so much EASIER than either drawing or sculpting something — since you can just cut bits out it’s more “malleable” than the average 2D sketch, but it’s still a flat picture so you don’t need to worry about that pesky 3rd dimension. Plus, you don’t need to worry about any details, colors, light direction, etc. etc. It’s like the artistic version of pudding.

Mmm, pudding.

But anyhow, returning from that minor distraction, it can be pretty tough to convince myself to put down the tiny scissors and go back to my Real Art, just as it’s tough when I buy a gallon of milk to stop myself from just making half of it into pudding and calling it a day. A fridge full of pudding would be super-easy, but then you have a fridge full of pudding and you realize how freakin’ boring pudding is after four days or so of nothing else for dessert. You realize a terrible mistake has been made. You could have used that milk for biscuits! Scones! Waffles! Cereal! Instead you made 20 servings of pudding and mac-n-cheese, and the days ahead look very bleak indeed.

I don’t remember where I was going with this metaphor, except it’s reminded me that I may be out of milk again.

Anyhow, I need to get to work is what I’m saying. Before I sink into the soft pudding of despair and forget how to hold a pencil.

Uh…

Happy holidays?

Talk to Me

