Your wish is my command….

Sometimes I have all sorts of drawing ideas, and there’s not enough time in the day to get them all down on paper.

Other times, I have an entire day off and the library’s closed and the errands are as done as they’re going to get, and I don’t feel like drawing or finishing up a single thing. What’s a girl to do?

Well, in days past she might have had to figure something out all by herself, which of course is sorely taxing to the fragile artistic mind. (Being an artist has exactly one perk, and that is the fact that you can blame nearly any personal flaw on your mercurial Artistic Temperament.)

But as I’m a modern sort of person, with a VCR and everything, I took the modern approach and enlisted the help of social media! In my case, this meant asking my friends to please suggest something, anything (well, anything at least vaguely animalian in my case) for me to draw. My rules for myself were that I couldn’t erase (due to the terrible paper more than any wish to make things interesting), that I couldn’t start over once I’d begun, and that I should try to keep it at ten minutes or less. I wound up with some of the usual requests — puppies, kitties, bunnies, and a sort of unicorn thingy — but a few definitely required me to push right up against (or exceed by a couple minutes) my self-imposed time limit.

PangolinHere we have one of my personal favorite Semi-Obscure Mammals, the pangolin (which, as you can see, I had to tie to the world of Pokemon since it is basically a Sandslash)

SphinxFor simplicity’s sake, suffice to say that this is a guardian Sphinx and she is none too happy with intruders.

DragonOkay, the dragon lighting a torch wasn’t that hard because I draw a lot of dragons, but I really like dragons so there.

Oh, and finally I cheated on the requests for cats, bunnies and penguins and just threw them all together:

Penguinsetc.So, what started out as a superbly nonproductive day without so much as a sketch for my blog turned into a DRAWING EXTRAVAGANZA that also brought me considerably closer to my goal of using up this new pencil. I normally wish for my pencils to be immortal, of course, but these were a gift and I can plant them when I’m done with them. It’s a whole herb garden’s worth, but I decided to start with the Rosemary one because rosemary is amazing and can do no wrong unless you put it in pot roast.

Talk to Me

