Moo, Baa, Lalala…

HippoBirdie

Last week was my mother’s birthday. Since I’m slowly stowing away all of the drawing materials in preparation for the move (well, WAS stowing … have stowed, a little too well as now I don’t even have real paper to write a “THIS DRYER IS STILL BROKEN” note on so I had to use the back of an old Library envelope; but as usual I digress), I couldn’t really make a card or anything like I normally would, so I had to settle for a half-sheet of paper with a stolen play on words.

See, back-in-the day my mother got a mug with Sandra Boynton’s familiar “Hippo, Birdie, Deer, Ewe…” rebus-version birthday song. It’s cute, naturally, and I remember her explaining it to me when I was little. Anyhow, I have no idea where it is anymore, and I wasn’t even going to try to replicate Boynton’s little drawings, but I figured she knew the mug well enough to get the reference regardless.

She did, but then I realized I had to edit it after I gave it to her … said edit was rather hasty and in midair rather than a proper drawing surface, which is why you can’t really make it out in the picture (even less so than the sheep, which were just drawn in a bit of an impatient hurry because I know I’m bad at sheep and I enjoy self-fulfilling prophecies). But, you see, it isn’t a song if you only sing the line once, so there needed to be a repeat sign….

Talk to Me

