I beg your pardon….

Coloring is hard. The coloring-book craze has kind of baffled me, due mainly to the ridiculously intricate designs that seem to be popular. They’re beautiful, don’t get me wrong, but … I would not have the patience to sharpen that many pencils, let alone keep track of which color went next to what to avoid overlap.

…It’s possible I’m approaching this the wrong way.

Nevertheless, I prefer working with simple color drawings and complex grayscale ones. But in the spirit of the adult coloring book craze, I decided to draw a rather decorative cheetah. I somewhat arbitrarily chose vines for the appendages (morning glory for the limbs, roses for the tail), a fern for the chest/belly, and completely random stylized leaves and ray flowers for the rest of the body.

pard

There’s no way I would color all that in even to see what it looks like, but it was a lot of fun to draw! I’m working on cleaning it up and vectorizing it, and I’ll have it up in my shops soon.

As for today’s title, in hindsight it’s sort of only funny to me. The WIP name for this was “jungle cat,” just because there were plants and it’s a feline. Then I saved the file as “pard” because the jaguar/leopard association had already been made in my head (and “acinonyx” takes too long to type anyhow). Also, the roses were the last part I drew. So when I was trying to think of a better name for the finished product, “roses” and “pard” were in my head, and I reflected that the design was more like a garden.

Aaaand thus the Lynn Anderson song. Incidentally, for all of that I am no closer to finding a good name….

One thought on “I beg your pardon….

  1. Cheetah changed its spots. Or, Spotless. Leopard smells the roses? Pard on my thorns… Ummm… Convolvulus Cat… Beautiful drawing regardless of name!! I also don’t often colour in. (My secret!)

Talk to Me

