Who’s That Patreon?

It was suggested that I create a Patreon account. It was also suggested I blog conversations I have with people. Due to these two suggestions, I present to you The Conversation Where Someone Suggested A Patreon Account And We Also Mentioned This Blog Post (plus a Meta Metapod for how self-referential this all is):

Meta

(I have used the super-secret special codename CAT here, but am not conversing with an actual cat, though some days this is not immediately obvious even in context. The other super-secret codename is SISSY but honestly it is not very secret and I may have gotten it from an eight year old)

ME: …Okay, name two animals! [stops, thinks of how I would respond to this] But don’t assign names to two animals, just actually give me two animal names.
CAT: Okay…
ME: I need something to draw for my blog tonight, I’ve been putting it off.
SISSY: A HORSE AND A DRAGON.
ME: …A horse and a dragon? Okay… that’s kind of a Qilin  … [starts] Or like a kelpie maybe. I STILL NEED ONE FROM YOU THOUGH.
CAT: Um … two animals … uh…
ME: I’m not grading you.
CAT: [SISSY] and a bird.
ME: >:-(
CAT: …
ME: [SISSY] AND A BIRD.
CAT: …
ME: That’s …Fine. But first horsedragon.

[LATER, after a brief INTERLUDE in which I accidentally drew a NINETALES while working on HORSEDRAGON]

ME: [SISSY] AND A BIRD.
CAT: Fine, a mouse and a bird.
ME: Mousebird. Okay … I can do that. [starts] Ursula Vernon did … well no, that was a rat with wings, except she called it a metaphorical pigeon… [is definitely muttering inaudibly at this point]

[THIS IS NOT A REAL CONVERSATIONAL INTERLUDE I JUST COULDN’T FIGURE OUT WHERE ELSE TO PUT THE DRAWING I ENDED UP WITH]

Horsedragon

CAT: So, do you make money from your blogs?
ME: No, I make some money from my art though.
CAT: Do you have a Patreon?
ME: Ummm … no, I was gonna get an account but that was right around when it got hacked so I didn’t. And then I forgot to do it later. I should probably do that.
CAT: Yeah.

So like, it was ALMOST suggested I guess? Anyhow, it really is one of about 20 things I have on my “I should probably do that….” list. Putting more of my drawings up on RedBubble, and organizing RedBubble better, are two of those, but Patreon seemed easier so I went with that tonight.

Then it turned out I actually had to fill things out and write stuff and edit images to be roughly 1600×400 px and not know how to make a profile image and … maybe RedBubble would have been a more relaxing use of my evening. But it’s started now, and maybe I’ll actually make it respectable over the weekend (which is actually Thursday and Friday for me). I’M WRITING THIS HERE SO I ACTUALLY HAVE TO DO IT INSTEAD OF PUTTING IT OFF LIKE THE DISHES.

(darn, now I also have to do the dishes)

Also, Patreon sounds like an Eeveelution, so here is a bonus speed-drawing that is the embodiment of the element of money I guess:

Patreon

Talk to Me

