Count me away before you sleep….

Sheeps! So many sheeps! And another P!ATD title, sorry about that, but really how could I resist with this one.

Turns out, these RedBubble challenges are often the only way I can be bothered to do anything remotely constructive art-wise. I did feel pretty awful yesterday, but it came on quickly and wasn’t really the reason I’d been lounging around for most of the morning. I just don’t like, y’know, doing stuff.

Anyhow, along those lines, I originally wanted to do 50 sheep, which working alphabetically through the Wikipedia list would have taken me roughly to the cool polycerate Jacob sheep (skipping the ones without articles or pictures as well as some of the not-so-distinctive meat breeds). Halfway through, though, I decided maybe 25 was a good number and I could finish it up for a special 50-sheep edition some other, more ambitious day.

Even so, there’s actually a ton of variety considering I literally just grabbed the first 25 names for the most part. I skipped one that looked too much like the Beltex, for example, but dang, what is with the Beltex in the first place? I didn’t realize until now that putting a bunch of extra muscles on a shortish ram turns it into a sort of unsettling woolly hog. Likewise, bulking everything up evenly and taking off the wool, like the shorn Australian White rams I saw, gives you tiny cows with floofy (or missing) tails and adorable noses.

Look, we don’t have a lot of sheep where I live.

All in all it was a pretty fun project, once you past the crippling headache and the difficulty of finding reference pics for a lot of the lambs. And yes, I cheated and included the Jacob anyhow, because somehow it seemed more sportsmanlike than skipping all the way down to the Navajo-Churro. What can I say, they’re too cool to leave out.

AllSheepHalf